Skip to Content

Borrowing Policy

ID Cards

A valid TxState ID or government-issued photo ID must be presented to check out library material.

Loan Periods & Renewals

Loan periods below are for Texas State University students, faculty, and staff.  All Texas State University borrowers are allowed to check out a maximum of 100 items.

Collection/Material Type Undergraduate Students Graduate Students Faculty University Staff
General Collection Books
(includes general stacks on 5th & 6th floors, general material in Archives and Research Center (ARC), Juvenile Collection, Theses and Dissertations, Graphic Novels, Testing Collection)
28 days
(guaranteed 28 days)
[3 renewals]
182 days (guaranteed 28 days)
[2 renewals]
2 set due dates:
May 31 & December 31 [unlimited renewals]
2 set due dates:
May 31 & December 31 [unlimited renewals]
Popular Reading 28 days
(guaranteed 28 days)
[3 renewals]
182 days (guaranteed 28 days)
[2 renewals]
182 days (guaranteed 28 days)
[3 renewals]
182 days (guaranteed 28 days)
[3 renewals]
Federal & Texas Government Documents 28 days
(guaranteed 28 days)
[3 renewals]
182 days
(guaranteed 28 days)
[2 renewals]
182 days
(guaranteed 28 days)
[3 renewals]
182 days
(guaranteed 28 days)
[3 renewals]
DVDs 14 days
(guaranteed 14 days)
[3 renewals] Maximum 4 items
14 days
(guaranteed 14 days)
[3 renewals]
Maximum 10 items
14 days
(guaranteed 14 days)
[3 renewals]
Maximum 10 items
14 days
(guaranteed 14 days)
[3 renewals]
Maximum 10 items
Other Media
(includes CDs, audiocassettes, videocassettes, filmstrips, kits, games, language learning media collection [all formats], digital media (software), toys, flashcards, models, pictures, posters, slides, charts, and realia)
28 days
[3 renewals]
Maximum 4 items
28 days
[3 renewals]
Maximum 10 items
28 days
[3 renewals]
Maximum 10 items
28 days
[3 renewals]
Maximum 10 items
Texas Curriculum Materials Center [TCMC] 14 days
[3 renewals]
14 days
[3 renewals]
14 days
[3 renewals]
14 days
[3 renewals]
Bound Periodicals 7 days
[0 renewals]
7 days
[0 renewals]
7 days
[0 renewals]
7 days
[0 renewals]
Laptops & Laptop Chargers Due one hour before library closes; exceptions during extended hours
[0 renewals]
Due one hour before library closes; exceptions during extended hours
[0 renewals]
Due one hour before library closes; exceptions during extended hours
[0 renewals]
Due one hour before library closes; exceptions during extended hours
[0 renewals]
Equipment
including, but not limited to: Equipment including, but not limited to:
  • Calculators
  • Cameras
  • GPS
  • Headphones
  • PA Systems
  • Projectors
Headphones and calculators: 4 hours.
All other equipment: 7 days.
Headphones and calculators: 4 hours.
All other equipment: 7 days.
Headphones and calculators: 4 hours.
All other equipment: 7 days.
Headphones and calculators: 4 hours.
All other equipment: 7 days.
Collection/Material Type Retired Faculty and Staff/GWLA Members TexShare/Community Borrower Alumni Association Member
General Collection Books 28 days [3 renewals] 14 days [No renewals] 14 days [No renewals]
Media Disks (DVDs, CDs, Digital Media) Other media types are Library Use Only for these patrons types. (see specific AV format rules for undergraduate students) 4 Hours [1 Renewal] 4 Hours [1 Renewal]

Fines

Material Type/Collection Fines
General Collection No fines unless recalled.
Media (DVDs, CDs, Models, Kits, etc.) $1/day
Laptops $5/hour
Equipment (calculators, headphones, cameras, GPS units, etc.) Items with hourly loan periods are charged $1/hour. Overnight items are $5/day.
Bound Periodicals $1/day
Recalled Items: Additional fine on items recalled by another library user $1 per day, to all users, including faculty
Reserve Items Books/DVDs/CDs/other media: $5/day or $1/hour, maximum $100.00; Articles: $1/hour, maximum $20.00
Secured Collection $5 per day for overnight check-outs, or $1 per hour for items with hourly loan periods. There is no maximum fine cut-off. Fines will continue to accrue until material is checked in by library staff.

Lost & Damaged Materials

Most items that are lost or damaged and not useable will be billed at the price of the item, as listed in the catalog record, plus a $15 processing fee.  Patrons who return items that are missing part(s) (e.g., models, DVD sets) may be charged the complete replacement cost.    When there is no price in the catalog record, the following default prices will be used:

Item Default price
Books (including government documents, atlases, textbooks, etc.) $70 + $15 processing fee
VHS/cassette $10 + $15 processing fee
CDs $25 + $15 processing fee
DVDs $50 + $15 processing fee
Kits $250 + $15 processing fee
Models $250 + $15 processing fee
Bound Periodicals $250 + $15 processing fee
Secured Collection Materials (including books, kits, models, realia, etc.) $250 + $15 processing fee

Hold & Recall

A patron who needs an item which is checked out to someone else may place a recall on the item online by clicking the “Request” button in the online catalog.  If the due date is changed, the borrower who currently has the item will receive a notice to return it.  The new due date is always at least five days after the recall notice is issued but can be later, to guarantee the original borrower their minimum number of days.  After the recalled item due date, fines will begin accruing for all user types at $1/day. When the item is returned, the requester will receive a notice that the item is available for pickup.

Appealing Fines or Charges

Patrons may challenge a lost item charge via the appeals process.

The appeal process applies to all University Library materials.

If the patron wishes to appeal a library fine, they should first discuss the charge with a supervisor at the library desk where the item was checked out. If the patron is not satisfied with the supervisor’s decision, the patron may then submit an appeal by completing the online appeal form.  The patron’s appeal will be reviewed by a fines appeal panel in a timely manner.  An appeal based solely on inability to pay or disagreement with the fine structure will not be considered. Once the panel’s decision has been made, it is final.

Blocks/Library Holds

Library privileges may be suspended for borrowers who have unpaid fines or overdue items.

Borrowers will be unable to check out additional materials or renew existing items if any of the following applies:

  • The borrower owes too much in fines (Texas State student/faculty/staff: $50 or more; other borrower: $1 or more).
  • The borrower has reached the maximum level overdue notice on any item they have checked out.
  • The borrower has overdue TexShare or ILL items.

Borrowers will have a library hold in Banner if any of the following applies:

  • The borrower owes too much in fines (Texas State student/faculty/staff: $25 or more)
  • The borrower has overdue items that are 2 or more days overdue.
  • The borrower has overdue TexShare or ILL items.

 

Confidentiality

A user’s borrowing record is confidential, pursuant to the Texas Public Information Act (Act of May 4, 1993, 73rd Leg., R.S., ch. 268, § 1, 1993 Tex. Gen. Laws 583, 594–607), codified at Tex. Gov’t Code § 552.124).¹   Library staff will not disclose the identity of a patron who has material checked out, nor will they inform any patron of items checked out to another patron.

¹ Added by: Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 5.03(a), eff. Sept. 1, 1995; Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 1035, Sec. 11, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. Amended by: Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1229 (S.B. 602), Sec. 16, eff. September 1, 2011.

Borrowing Policy for Visitors / Non-University Borrowers

Visitors may borrow books from Alkek Library through:

  • TexShare Library Card Program. Ask your local library for a TexShare card to get started.
  • A Non-University Borrower's Card. An option is to pay a $15 per year fee at the circulation desk to obtain a Non-University Borrower's Card for borrowing privileges.
  • Greater Western Library Alliance (GWLA) member institution affiliation. Borrowers from other GWLA institutions must present their institution's ID or official government-issued ID and must log into their library account at their home institution to demonstrate current affiliation and no outstanding fines greater than $25.
Material Loan Period Max # of Items
Books 2 weeks Retired Texas State faculty – 100
All others – 4 at any one time
Media discs (DVDs, CDs, etc.) 4-hours, Library Use Only for TexShare or non-University borrowers.Retired Texas State faculty: 2 weeks 4 items
Other Media (Kits, Models, Equipment, etc.) Non-University borrowers: 4 hours. Retired Texas State faculty: 2 weeks. 4 items
Wittliff Collections/University Archives Room use only