Texas State University Logo

Quick Links

Join the Conversation

adjust type sizemake font smallermake font largerreset font size

Fines

Fines on Overdue Items for Undergraduate and Graduate Students, and Non-university Borrowers:
Scores and method books:  25 cents per day (maximum fine $7.00)
Compact discs, LPs, VHS/DVD:  50 cents per day (maximum fine $7.00)
2-hour materials (reserve items, equipment, etc.):  25 cents per hour (maximum fine $7.00)
Borrowers with overdue items or unpaid fines may be barred from registration and/or checking out materials.

Click here to see the fine schedule for items belonging to the Alkek library.

Fines on Overdue Items for Faculty and Staff
Faculty and Staff (including TAs) are not charged overdue fines.  However, they are responsible for paying for replacement (plus $5.00 processing fee per item) for lost, damaged, or unreturned materials (including those charged by proxy).

Paying Fines
Fines can be paid to a member of the Scheider Music Library staff, at the circulation desk.  Staff members can print you a list of your fines, as well as issue a receipt for your payment.  We accept cash (exact change) and personal checks (payable to Texas State University-San Marcos.)  We cannot accept credit card payments.

Lost Materials
Any borrower losing an item belonging to the library must pay a replacement fee (the current cost of the item), plus a processing fee ($5.00).  Overdue fines may be waived (at the librarian's discretion) if the borrower reports the loss in a timely manner.  If the borrower finds and returns the item at a later time, a refund will be processed (minus processing fee).